Elizabeth Fleming Stier Award

Elizabeth Fleming Stier Award Recipients

Purpose: To honor an IFT member for pursuit of humanitarian ideals and unselfish dedication that have resulted in significant contributions to the well-being of the food industry, academia, students, or the general public.


Robert Gravani, Ph.D., CFS, Cornell University

Dr. Robert Gravani received a B.S. in food science from Rutgers University where he was an advisee of Dr. Stier. Further, he received an M.S. and a Ph.D. in food science from Cornell University where he is currently professor emeritus of food science. Dr. Gravani has worked with all sectors of the food system, developing innovative food safety programs for constituents in production agriculture, food processing, food retailing, and foodservice, as well as for regulatory agencies and consumers. He is a past president, past treasurer, and Fellow of IFT and has received several other IFT Achievement Awards. He is also the past president and a Fellow of the International Association for Food Protection (IAFP).


Mary Kay Pohlschneider
, Ph.D, The Ohio State University

Dr. Mary Kay Pohlschneider is the 2019 recipient of the Elizabeth Fleming Stier Award. Dr. Pohlschneider is a senior lecturer at The Ohio State University in food science and technology, where she teaches Introduction to Food Processing, HACCP, Food & Health Controversies, Caffeine Science, and Chocolate Science. In ten years as a faculty member, she has become known for her passion for the science of foods—notably cookies, ice cream, coffee, and especially chocolate. She is a mentor for the campus-wide Second-year Transformational Experience Program and excels at advising food science undergraduates. She is a tireless student advocate, an effective ambassador for the science of food, and a remarkably pleasant person. Her love for her work and for her students is reflected in her election as 2017 Teacher of the Year.


2021 Robert Gravani, Ph.D.
2019 Mary Kay Pohlschneider, Ph.D.
2017 Louise Wicker
2015 Kenneth Marsh
2013 Olga Padilla-Zakour
2011 Dr. Fatemeh Malekian
2009 Rakesh Singh
2008 Donald Kramer
2007 Susan Kay Hall McWatters
2006 Lynn G. Turner
2005 George J. Flick, Jr.
2004 Barbara Rasco
2003 Alfred A. Bushway
2002 Carol Cooper
2001 Paul Jelen
2000 Joe M. Regenstein
1999 Arnold E. Denton
1998 Ruth M. Patrick
1997 Nell I. Mondy